getattachment1.jpgI picked up this little book the other day at Sur La Table – and since I thought I aspired to be a Food Snob, I knew I would thoroughly enjoy this “essential lexicon of gastronomical knowledge.”  Well, much to my surprise, I discovered that I was not only NOT a Food Snob but I now know my aspirations to be one were totally off course!  The Food Snob’s Dictionary has this description of a “Food Snob n: reference term for the sort of food obsessive for whom the actual joy of eating and cooking is but a side dish to the accumulation of arcane knowledge about these subjects.”  How could I have been so wrong?!?  The accumulation of knowledge is not something I have ever sought…in any area of my life…. as my friends and family will attest!  This means, however, that I am just a Foodie, and interestingly enough, The Food Snob’s Dictionary does not even include this term within it’s pages!!!  Talk about a glaring oversight!  So I, proudly, have come up with my own definition of a… Foodie n:  reference term for the sort of food obsessive for whom the actual joy of eating, tasting, licking, slurping, etc., etc.,  is enough!  Who needs knowledge when you can have a eclair? 

