finished-pie.jpg

I just love it when I go to make something for dinner and I have all of the ingredients in my fridge or pantry – and today was one of those lucky days.  When I found this recipe I remembered the leftover pepperoni from the mummy bread and this recipe moved to the top of the pile.  It sounded good and simple – my only two requirements on a weeknight – and it was!

  ingredients1.jpg

 Pepperoni Pizza Quiche – Adapted from VeryBestBaking.com 

(The changes I made are denoted by an asterisk…I felt the egginess of this dish might need a little zip…since I’m really not a fan of eggs…and I was right.)

1 unbaked 9-inch frozen pie shell

1 package (8 oz.) shredded Italian blend cheese, divided

*4 oz. thinly sliced pepperoni (about 35 to 45, 1 1/2 to 2-inch diameter slices), divided

1 can (12 fl. oz.) evaporated milk

3 large eggs, beaten

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

* 2 tablespoons finely chopped green onion

1 teaspoon dried basil leaves

*1/4 teaspoon white pepper

*1/4 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon garlic powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Sprinkle 1 cup cheese and half of pepperoni slices onto bottom of pie shell.  Sprinkle green onions over pepperoni.  Whisk evaporated milk, eggs, flour, basil, pepper, salt and garlic powder in medium bowl until blended.  Pour mixture into pie shell.  Sprinkle with remaining cheese.  Decorate top with remaining pepperoni pieces and any other topping you like.  Place quiche on baking sheet (if pie pan is made of aluminum foil.)

Bake for 40 to 45 minutes or until knife inserted near center comes out clean. 

 grease.jpg

I found it necessary to dab the top of the cooked pie with paper towels to soak up some of the grease from the pepperoni….

Cool for 5 minutes before serving. 

I liked the taste of this and will definitely make it again…..maybe on game day – when the old man dons his Redskins ensemble, flies the flag and spends the afternoon yelling at the TV calling the refs idiots…..he doesn’t know they can’t hear him.

(The original recipe suggests topping with red or green peppers or sliced black olives or any other topping you’d like before baking.)

